My first post   1 comment

Hello, my name is Nancy Mathis.  I am using a pseudonym so I can share my experiences without hurting the feelings of my friends, co-workers, and my family.  The first time I can remember being depressed was when I moved far away from many of my relatives on Mom’s side of the family.  I moved from Cincinnati, Ohio to San Diego, California with my parents.  I turned 13 that summer.  At first, I thought moving far away from my old school was exciting, and I thought I would make new friends easily.  However, I became depressed at summer camp because I had trouble making friends and I became homesick.  I cried almost every day I was at the summer camp.  The only day I didn’t cry was on my birthday.  I would go to the bathroom to cry at night because I didn’t want anyone else to see me cry.  I made a few friends there, so it helped me through my time there.  However, for the most part, I was miserable.  I was so happy to come home from summer camp.  I thought things would be better when I went to school, because I enjoyed going to school.  It did not turn out that way.  I am going to share more of my story later.  I will add information about signs of depression, getting help in the form of counseling, psychiatrists, self-help books, and spiritual growth, and about coping with depression on a day-to-day basis.

Posted January 22, 2011 by Nancy Mathis in Uncategorized

One response to “My first post

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

